Accelerated Evolution

Okay, when I get comments about my lack of posts and people start finding this blog on The Reddit, that’s usually an indicator that I need to blog more often.

First up, let’s check the git logs since there’s been a lot of activity (~100 commits) over the past week:

  • Fullscreen toggling on windows restores correct positioning
  • More backlight handling improvements and significant optimization
  • Window frame icons now delete themselves when using themes without icons (eg. pixel borders)
  • Connman check in first-run wizard now less likely to fail
  • EFM now has no icon shadows when renaming
  • Application menus/popups/etc once again render shadows as expected
  • Drag-n-drop to external applications once again functions as expected
  • Internal windows with multiple drop handlers (eg. EFM with navigation toolbar) now accurately drop to the right handler
  • Internal windows with multiple drop handlers (eg. EFM with navigation toolbar) no longer leak handlers
  • Many improvements to internal input tracking
  • Various popups once again show above windows
  • Lots of improvements to shaped X client rendering (eg. fucking chromium  addon menus; it’s 2014 guys, read up on argb)
  • More accurately reset focus when closing various popups
  • Lots of improvements to X window stacking accuracy
  • Restarts of E19 now preserve window stacking accurately
  • …and also re-set focus more reliably
  • Mouse cursor cleanups
  • Various GTK clients render again after becoming maximized
  • Improve accuracy and speed of rendering for X overrides (ie. application menus/popups)
  • Slider widget moves in correct direction when up/down keys are pressed
  • Pager modules no longer have symbol conflicts and crash when switching between them
  • Pager (original) popups are once again visible
  • Canvas focus now correctly resets when closing last remaining visible window
  • Binding resets now reset according to original parent profile
  • EFM has a new option to allow video size clamping in preview popups
  • EFM video previews now show resolution
  • Urgency state is now set more reliably in various cases
  • Sticky windows now function as expected
  • Various CPU-intensive features are now frozen while screensaver is active

In vaguely related happenings, EFL 1.8.5, Elementary 1.8.4, Emotion Generic Players 1.8.1, and Enlightenment 0.18.3 releases occurred today. A big thanks to Stefan Schmidt for including the E18.3 release with the others. This release includes all bugfixes which have occurred since the E18.2 release last month, most notably the fix for external DND operations.

During the process of fixing some things last week I was planning on posting a feature article about the process of fixing a “hard” bug, with some screenshots and various ramblings about how much I hate the XSHAPE extension, but it got away from me and I didn’t take screenshots or document anything as I went. Also, I was skeptical that anyone would actually care since the process would take time away from more interesting topics as well as actual bug fixing. Ideally next time I find a funny bug I’ll take some good screenshots to post as bloopers since the last time I posted bloopers it was fairly well received. Articles like this are fun to write since it’s easy to come up with the content.

I was struck by a terrible and interesting idea this morning. I did something similar last January, so perhaps this is a recurring idea that I get every January. Next year may confirm or reject this hypothesis. Anyway, I’ve begun writing full documentation for every configuration option in E. So far, the “Look” category is done, and I’m going to try and do one category each day* until it’s done.

I’ve got a big announcement planned for the end of the week, and I may or may not update the blog before that.

* “Day” here is defined as “time when I remembered that I was documenting configuration options”

5 thoughts on “Accelerated Evolution

  1. Hi, documentation! documentation! documentation! 😉 You’re coming just in time, given this guy’s http://www.makululinux.com/apps/blog/show/40699862-makulu-e17-now-live- complaints about difficulties in building a E17 distro, and lack of documentation. Why did he not switch to E18 is something we obviously don’t know, but I know that the package efl-docs for my Arch weighs >200MB unpacked, so I suppose this would be something quite helpful for him?…

    Regarding EFM, could it be a standalone app, like Terminology is, or maybe we could share the icon theme (it’s beautiful, BTW) with GTK/QT apps? And how about a gksudo equivalent for EFL? Are these tricky to implement?

    • I’ve never heard of makulu before. Reading the post there, I’m skeptical about nearly everything he’s said, with the exception of the settings panels which are known to be terrible (and which I tried, unsuccessfully, to replace last year).
      “Integrated Gnome/XFCE menu system” looks like he just made the E menu theme look like GTK2, so that’s a lie/misrepresentation.
      “Used a mixture of E17 and GTK Theme system”… I guess he made his E17 theme look like GTK and is using a matching GTK theme? Not sure why he didn’t just say that instead of making it sound like some technical feat where he replaced the E menu infrastructure with GTK.
      “Lots of Bug fixes throughout the system. Lots of optimizations throughout the system.” this seems to be the typical “50% faster!” infomercial-like slogan that everyone in OSS uses.
      My favorite part of the post was the FVWM comment guy, so thanks for that chuckle.

      Documentation is a difficult thing, as I’ve said many times. I am the only person working full-time on Enlightenment, and it’s not uncommon for me to be the only person making non-trivial changes in a given week. Given this, I can either spend my time fixing bugs and adding features, or I can spend my time writing documentation; I can’t physically do two things at once, so this limits the amount that can and will be done here since NOBODY else contributes to the non-code side of E.

      EFM is probably never going to be a standalone app. It’s awful and buggy and I hate it, but it’s much more powerful, lightweight, and flexible when running inside the compositor instead of as a client. The icon theme is easy enough to share if anyone else cared enough to take the time to export it.

      gksudo…I have no idea what this is or why it’s needed. Applications are hard to write when the only developers on the project are the same people who spend all their time writing/maintaining the core functionality.

  2. Well you didn’t sound quite optimistic with this comment…

    I myself tried to learn some Python coding but the whole object thing is just too “far from everyday life”, so to speak… Also, is Python even not considered too slow for a super-lightweight environment like E? All apps seem to be in C, mostly.

    • Python is fine these days, and our developers who use it are quite active.

      There’s lots to be done even for people who don’t know anything about coding. We need (obviously) documentation for just about everything, which is certainly something that requires knowing C.

Join the flame war

